Feeling a lil’ nutty…

Thanksgiving is coming up tomorrow (wow, can we just…seriously?! Time is flyinggg!),  and I thought it would be appropriate to write my first recipe post. I didn’t want to do something too intense, but I knew I wanted to do a recipe that reminded me of the holiday.  Candied covered almonds!  The hint of cinnamon and warm almonds in a candy dish screams HOLIDAY GOODNESS!

Luckily, I found a simple recipe that entails just that! Even better, the kind of candied almonds you find at Disney World or the ones in the city.  My mom would buy a few bags because she knew one bag was not enough.  Talk about a not so leisurely snac. They’re gone before I can even say “Oh, nuts.”  Hahaha. Sigh. 

 

The directions seemed pretty straightforward but it definitely took more than 40 minutes. But because I also knew they were going to be worth it, I went ahead and doubled the batch.  However, I would not recommend doubling the cinnamon–4 teaspoons of it should be plenty.  The only “hump” in the process was researching how to “beat to stiff peaks.”  So for those who’s never beaten your egg whites to “stiff peaks,” (I had to google it) go here for a quick tutorial. 

All I can say is that they turned out legit and I am definitely making them again. Enjoy and let me know what you think!

 

Walt Disney World’s Glazed Almonds

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 2 egg whites
  • salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 (16 ounce) package almonds
  • 4 teaspoons cinnamon

1.  Place butter on a jellyroll pan and heat in 325 F (I’d crank it up to 350 F when putting the almonds in the oven), then gradually add sugar, beating to stiff peaks. Gently fold in almonds and cinnamon.

3. Pour almond mixture into jellyroll pan and stir, coating with butter.

4. Bake, stirring every 10 minutes, until almonds are crisp, about 40 minutes.

5. Serve warm or at room temperature

.

Leave a Reply

